Easter Sunday Date Egg 2023

Easter Sunday - Date in Year 2023

Date of Easter Sunday:April 9, 2023
Date of Easter Monday:April 10, 2023
Easter dates for other years:
« 2022 | 2023 | 2024 »

How is the date of Easter calculated? - When is Easter 2023?

  • Easter is a "movable feast", which means that its date is not fixed in the calendar.
  • The date is calculated according to the Lunar Calendar.
  • Easter is related to the Jewish festival of Pesach (Passover).
  • In Christian Religion the Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first Spring Full Moon.
  • Even though Spring Equinox can astronomically fall on different day each year, to simplify the calculation of Easter, the Spring is officialy set to begin on March 21st.
  • If the first Spring Full Moon falls on Sunday, then the Easter will fall on the following Sunday.
Date of Easter Sunday 2023 is calculated:
First Sunday - following - First Full Moon - following - 21 March 2023
Date 2023 Lunar Phase Moon Sign Event
Tue Mar 21
17:22
(UT/GMT)
NEW MOON AriesAries 21 March 2023
("officially" set as Spring equinox)
Wed Mar 22 Waxing Crescent AriesAries
Thu Mar 23 Waxing Crescent AriesAries
Fri Mar 24 Waxing Crescent TaurusTaurus
Sat Mar 25 Waxing Crescent TaurusTaurus
Sun Mar 26 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Mon Mar 27 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Tue Mar 28 First Quarter CancerCancer
Wed Mar 29 First Quarter CancerCancer
Thu Mar 30 Waxing Gibbous CancerCancer
Fri Mar 31 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Sat Apr 1 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Sun Apr 2 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Mon Apr 3 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Tue Apr 4 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Wed Apr 5 Waxing Gibbous LibraLibra
Thu Apr 6
04:34
(UT/GMT)
FULL MOON LibraLibra First Full Moon following 21 March 2023
Fri Apr 7 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio
Sat Apr 8 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio
Sun Apr 9 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio Easter Sunday
Mon Apr 10 Waning Gibbous SagittariusSagittarius Easter Monday
Current Planets, Astrology Transits, Chart of this moment
Current planets
Planetary positions
Show chart »
Lunar calendar 2023
Moon calendar
Moon in Gemini Gemini
Show calendar »