Easter Sunday Date Egg 2017

Easter Sunday - Date in Year 2017

Date of Easter Sunday:April 16, 2017
Date of Easter Monday:April 17, 2017
Easter dates for other years:
« 2016 | 2017 | 2018 »

How is the date of Easter calculated? - When is Easter 2017?

  • Easter is a "movable feast", which means that its date is not fixed in the calendar.
  • The date is calculated according to the Lunar Calendar.
  • Easter is related to the Jewish festival of Pesach (Passover).
  • In Christian Religion the Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first Spring Full Moon.
  • Even though Spring Equinox can astronomically fall on different day each year, to simplify the calculation of Easter, the Spring is officialy set to begin on March 21st.
  • If the first Spring Full Moon falls on Sunday, then the Easter will fall on the following Sunday.
Date of Easter Sunday 2017 is calculated:
First Sunday - following - First Full Moon - following - 21 March 2017
Date 2017 Lunar Phase Moon Sign Event
Tue Mar 21 Waning Crescent CapricornCapricorn 21 March 2017
("officially" set as Spring equinox)
Wed Mar 22 Waning Crescent CapricornCapricorn
Thu Mar 23 Waning Crescent AquariusAquarius
Fri Mar 24 Waning Crescent AquariusAquarius
Sat Mar 25 Waning Crescent PiscesPisces
Sun Mar 26 Waning Crescent PiscesPisces
Mon Mar 27 Waning Crescent PiscesPisces
Tue Mar 28
02:57
(UT/GMT)
NEW MOON AriesAries
Wed Mar 29 Waxing Crescent AriesAries
Thu Mar 30 Waxing Crescent TaurusTaurus
Fri Mar 31 Waxing Crescent TaurusTaurus
Sat Apr 1 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Sun Apr 2 Waxing Crescent GeminiGemini
Mon Apr 3 First Quarter CancerCancer
Tue Apr 4 Waxing Gibbous CancerCancer
Wed Apr 5 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Thu Apr 6 Waxing Gibbous LeoLeo
Fri Apr 7 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Sat Apr 8 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Sun Apr 9 Waxing Gibbous VirgoVirgo
Mon Apr 10 Waxing Gibbous LibraLibra
Tue Apr 11
06:08
(UT/GMT)
FULL MOON LibraLibra First Full Moon following 21 March 2017
Wed Apr 12 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio
Thu Apr 13 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio
Fri Apr 14 Waning Gibbous ScorpioScorpio
Sat Apr 15 Waning Gibbous SagittariusSagittarius
Sun Apr 16 Waning Gibbous SagittariusSagittarius Easter Sunday
Mon Apr 17 Waning Gibbous CapricornCapricorn Easter Monday
Chart of this moment
Current planets
Planetary positions
Show chart »
Lunar calendar 2017
Moon calendar
Moon in Scorpio Scorpio
Show calendar »